Details, Details, Details

Strong-241

I’m in a wedding details mood again – which means I’ve got Evernote up and running with all my lists and details of everything, several wedding blogs (Green Wedding Shoes, Once Wed, A Paper Proposal, The Knot) , my Pinterest wedding board and my folder with all my wedding stuff out. It also means I’ve got Spotify playing potential wedding songs in the background..I still haven’t figured out all the songs needed yet, but I’m working on it. Like everything else I’ve got playlists for each part of the wedding, the ceremony, potential first dance songs, father/daughter dance, general reception songs (during dinner), and a few dance tunes. Every time I listen to potential songs that I could be walking down the aisle to, I start tearing up (just imagine what I’m going to do when it’s actually time to walk down the aisle…oh geeze). Imagining walking down the aisle and meeting Logan at the end gives me goose bumps and makes my heart skip a beat, which all causes me to stare out the window imagining it all and then I become all giddy and start smiling like an idiot. But you know what? Smiling like an idiot and getting giddy about marrying your best friend and the man of your dreams is more then okay, it should be expected. Going back to the music, one of my favorites to listen to is Pachelbel Meets U2, by Jon Schmidt. While I don’t know if it will be played because of the length, it’s still beautiful and I love the combination choice. Plus Logan’s contemplating having his own entrance song (which I totally support and am encouraging), because it’s his day too and I think it’d just be wicked fun to see what he picks.

Moving right along to the details that I’ve got so far. I’ve got the date, location, bridal party & their attire, his ring & attire, the guest book, my dress & veil, who’s doing the cake, hair & makeup artists, invitations, favors, and a few other minor details figured out. I’ve still got a few big hurdles to figure out like the photographer, music, and nailing down the honeymoon. After the wedding I’ll go into detail about everything (since wedding-detail secrets are totally acceptable), but I just have to say that I’m so excited about the guest book, favors, and my gift to my bridesmaids. I found my gift to my bridesmaids and the guest book on Etsy (such a fantastic place for various wedding items and many other things!) and I can’t wait to get them!

Plus, I’m so excited that one of my friends, Kim, is going to be doing my make up! What’s so crazy and such a blessing is that she’s coming all the way from Canada to do it! That’s one of the coolest things about this wedding, we’ve got friends and family flying in from all over the country (plus one wicked awesome Canadian!) since I’m from California, Logan is from Washington, his parents are all over the place (military chaplain) and Logan and I both live in New Hampshire. And the fact that so many people in my life are wicked talented and want to help in any way that they can! The florist, hair stylist, make up artist, cake baker, photographer (possibly), musician (possibly), wedding coordinator are all family/long-time church friends. Plus the countless number of people who continually offer to help with anything and everything wedding related, which is especially a blessing because I am planning the whole wedding from across the country. And to top it all off, our wedding officiant is Logan’s dad (an Army Chaplain), how much more personal and family-centered can you get with that? That’s one thing that I absolutely am loving about our wedding, the fact that we have so many talented people in our lives who are involved makes our wedding.

Today’s playlist: Question – Old 97’s, Pachelbel Meets U2 – Jon Schmidt, First Day of My Life – Bright Eyes, Gotta Have You – The Weepies

What is your favorite bride’s entrance song? Did you ever know of a groom that had his own entrance song, if so, what was it?

Leave a Reply

