When the bumps in the road come along

During our engagement everyone I met and knew had been commenting on how calm I was about everything. From the sales people at Zales to the ladies at my NH bridal shower to my (now) father-in-law. I never really realized how calm I really was about everything until we got to California and bumps started appearing.

I found my calmness or peacefulness all to be somewhat funny because we had just finished a sermon series at church on the Fruit of the Spirit. If you don’t know, one of the “fruits” is peace.

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.” (Galatians 5:22-23 NIV)

This is what calm looks like

I attribute my calmness or the peacefulness I experienced to God and my awesome fiancé (now husband). Since I met him (Logan) I have mellowed out in my emotional range, which used to go to extremes, doesn’t do that (as often or extreme) anymore. It’s because he doesn’t react to things instantly, he thinks about it then takes action. Logan has helped me level out in my emotional response and helped calm me down and has helped me (probably without him knowing it) stay and keep calm. I never really noticed it until lately when everyone would remark how calm I (and now how calm we) were and how peaceful we seemed to be about everything. And honestly there hadn’t been anything to go wrong to be freakin out or going all bridezilla on. Even with planning a wedding that will be on the clear opposite side of the country, I’ve had an amazing support system and people in California – my mom has done the majority of hands-on planning. So with a great group of people who are all in to help, and do everything they can to make sure the wedding was as perfect and beautiful as it could be, there was no reason why I should have been freaking out. Note: I had written the text above before I had gotten to California where what seemed like an endless supply of complications arose.

Shortly before Logan and I got to California the person who was going to be catering our wedding became unavailable due to a medical event (1. No caterer). Yet because my parents seem to know everybody and have connections just about everywhere, they found a caterer who was not only available that day but was able to make almost the exact thing that the first caterer was going to make.

Then when we got to California the person who was going to be doing our flowers called (throughout the week with updates) about the fact that the grower we met at the Los Angeles Flower Marker was not answering any of her phone calls so that she could order the flowers. She had been trying for 2 weeks to get a hold of them but had not been successful. So we began to make several back up plans in case we really couldn’t get the ones from LA (2. No flowers).

So I had a hard time trying to find flower girl dresses that I liked, I looked everywhere online and Natalie (my cousins wife, who’s 2 daughters were my flower girls) went into several stores looking for dresses as well. No luck. But then I found Etsy. Oh my goodnessI LOVE Etsy! I not only found the perfect flower girl dresses, but the guest book, my garter and the necklaces that I gave my

Vannie my wild card and Goose my ‘pose queen’

bridesmaids to wear with their dresses. So for those of you who don’t know what Etsy is, it’s an online community where individuals sell handmade items. So all the items that I bought on Etsy were handmade, which I think is one of the coolest things ever. So to get back to the list of “bumps” that happened, the dresses I had ordered were custom and so I had checked with the seller more than once to make sure she had it right because I wasn’t the one ordering them. So several weeks after they were ordered and had arrived Natalie called and sent photos of the dresses…I loved them except for one thing. It’s not a huge deal, but when you order something custom you’d expect it to be correct. The straps on the dress were halter when I had ordered for them to have shoulder straps (3. Flower girl dresses wrong) plus I’m not sure if they added the liner that I had requested be added as the dresses were a tulle material and therefor itchy. Because of this fact the youngest flower girl, Vannie (Savannah) constantly tried to get out of the dress (we bribed her with cookies a lot).

Three days before the wedding our cake bakers husband came over to let us know that his wife had an awful case of the flu that she’d caught from her daughter and was no longer able to make the cake (4. No cake). Little known fact by many (except those who know my family well) – my dad is an excellent cake baker and decorator. He has done almost every birthday cake in my family, countless other birthday/graduation/celebration/retirement cakes. And many wedding cakes. My dad did my California bridal shower cake and it was perfect. And now my dad was going to be doing my wedding cake. How many people can say that their dad made their wedding cake? Not that many I’d think, but I’m one of them now and I couldn’t be happier. My cake turned out just perfectly; he and I went over videos and photos of what I wanted it to look like and what kind of flavors we want.

Then the last “bump” came Friday morning while me and my bridesmaids were getting our nails done, I’d missed a call from Melissa. Melissa was my doing my hair and my cousins hair for the wedding, and she was the pianist in the group that was playing while I walked in. She had called to say not to worry but she wouldn’t be at the rehearsal that night due to the fact that she had thrown out her back (5. Hair stylist/musician throws out back). The good news was that she was mobile and was able to on Saturday (day of the wedding), do my hair, my cousin’s hair and play piano for my walk in. And just sayin’, my hair was absolutely amazing. I can’t wait to post photos of the wedding so you can see the amazingness of my hair (and everything else).

So even with those “bumps” I wasn’t super concerned, I knew they wouldn’t be as important in the end as marrying my best friend. I kept repeating when things started going wrong that all that mattered is to have someone to marry us and to have a witness. If all else failed, that’s all I needed. Everything turned out in the end; the flowers we got from the local farmers market that morning, we got a new caterer, the dresses were kept on (til the ceremony and photos were done), my dad made my wedding cake, and Melissa was able to do hair and play. And in the end all that mattered was that Logan and I were married, past that things happen not every bump turns smooth; but in my case every bump was smoothed over and was absolutely amazing.

So for anyone who reads this and was involved in my wedding I just want to tell you from the bottom of my heart, thank you. Thank you for all of the hard work and time that you put into the wedding. You did an absolutely amazing job and we couldn’t have done it without you. Thank you to all those who offered your time and skills to us; you are a complete blessing and I am so thankful for you. Sorry if I didn’t get a chance to find you before or during the reception to give you a huge hug and tell you just how thankful I am for you and all you did to help prepare for the biggest day of my life (so far). I hope the next time I’m back in California and see you I can thank you in person, but please know just how much you have blessed me and Logan.

I’ll write another post soon about the actual wedding and how it went and everything and post pictures once I get the photos from our photographer.

Leave a Reply

