Buffalo Chicken Bites

So my hubby loves and I mean loves his food hot/spicy. For instance, one night I made Shepherd’s Pie and the first thing he did was reach for the hot sauce. I’ve learned to bring the hot sauce to the table when I bring everything else so that he doesn’t have to get up to get it. It’s not that I don’t like hot/spicy foods, its that I don’t like it on everything…or to the extent that he does. Nevertheless I’ve learned to make a good portion of dinners with some kick to them. This is one of them. The last time I made them – well the first time, as he made them the first time – I got it right and made them super hot/spicy, no extra hot sauce needed. Once again I found this recipe by Sweet Pea’s Kitchen on Pinterest.

BuffaloChickenBites

Ingredients

  • 3 cups shredded cooked chicken (about 2-3 boneless skinless chicken breasts)
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup hot sauce (to taste – I did 1/2 c and it definitely gave it a good kick)
  • 3 1/2 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1 3/4 cups shredded cheese
  • 1/4 c chopped green onion (I forgot to add this and didn’t notice it)
  • 1 c all-purpose flour
  • 4 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 3-4 cups Corn Flakes cereal, crushed (I used my hands to get them to smaller pieces)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper
  2. In a large bowl, combine chicken, cream cheese, hot sauce, cheese (and green onion)
  3. Roll a large tablespoon of the mixture into a ball and place on a plate or separate baking sheet – this definitely helps so that when you’re coating them in the egg/flour/cereal the balls don’t get gross with the coating mixture.
  4. Place flour, egg and corn flakes in separate, shallow dishes. I did a sort of assembly line – chicken balls, flour, egg, corn flakes, baking sheet.
  5. Dip each chicken ball into the flour and roll it around, making sure that it’s totally coated. Then move on to the egg, doing the same thing as the flour – as it goes on it may get harder to get the egg to stick, just use your hands to ‘rub’ it all over the chicken ball. Lastly, roll the ball in the Corn Flakes – if it’s not sticking well then pick up some of the cereal and almost press it into the ball to make it stick. Towards the end you may need to add more Corn Flakes to the bowl as it tends to get a bit clumped with the egg.
  6. After coating each ball in Corn Flakes, place it on the prepared baking sheet and bake for 20 -25 minutes.

Yield: Varies depending on how big you make the balls, I got about 34 and could’ve made them smaller.

Note:

  • They may seem a bit squishy when you first pull them out and may think they’re not done, just leave them out a few minutes to cool and they’ll harden up a little bit more.
  • They seem to be better when they’re bite-sized rather than golf ball sized or bigger.
Leave a Reply

