Honey Sesame Chicken [Crock Pot]

I love using my crock pot. When I got two at my bridal shower I was ecstatic, I actually did a small scream of delight. While I returned one, I use it as often as I can. Living in New England, the summers are hot and humid, which makes cooking dreadful. So this is where my crock pot comes in handy, as I don’t need to turn on the oven at any point to make a fantastic meal. Plus it’s going to be great when Logan’s back at school and I’m at work all day, we get to come home to a meal all set and ready to be eaten.

So this morning when I went to pull out my calendar with my planned out meals, I saw this one for tomorrow, but decided that it sounded good for tonight, so I switched em’ 🙂 After I had finished prepping it and put it all in the crock pot my mom had texted asking what I was up to. I told her that I had just made dinner (well…prepared it/crock potted it), naturally she asked what I had made and I told her Honey Sesame Chicken. Immediately I got a response back asking for the recipe because she thought it sounded good too and wanted to make it for dinner. If I had lived anywhere near my parents (they’re in California and we’re in New Hampshire) they would have just come over instead…but to do that right now would be about a $600 dinner for them. So instead I gave her the recipe and off she went to make it too.

Original recipe from: Chef in Training

Food_sesame chicken crockpot

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I just threw them in frozen)
  • Salt & pepper
  • 1 c honey
  • 1/2 c soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp (heaping) onion powder
  • 4 tbsp ketchup
  • 2 tbsp canola oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (optional)
  • 4 tsp cornstarch dissolved in 6 tbsp water
  • Sesame seeds
  • Cooked rice or noodles
  • Pineapple, sliced and chunked (optional)

Directions

  1. Season both sides of chicken with salt & pepper, put into crock pot. In a small bowl, combine honey, soy sauce, onion powder, ketchup, oil, garlic, and pepper flakes.
  2. Pour over chicken – after I poured the sauce over the chicken, I flipped the chicken so that it would be super coated
  3. Cook on low for 3-4 hours or on high 1 1/2 – 2 1/2 hours, or just until chicken is cooked through. If you threw them in frozen like I did, it may take closer to 4 hours on low.
  4. Remove chicken from crock pot, leave sauce. Dissolve cornstarch in the water and pour into crock pot. Stir to combine with sauce.
  5. Replace lid and cook sauce on high for 10 minutes or til slightly thickened. Add pineapple and mix in. The original recipe I had didn’t have pineapple, but I thought it’d give it a nice twist.
  6. Cut chicken into bite size pieces, then return to pot and toss with sauce before serving. Sprinkle with sesame seeds and serve over rice or noodles.
Leave a Reply

