Love Is…

I often start blogs and forget about them. A long time ago I started a blog and was actually pretty regular about posting to it, when one day life got busy and I stopped posting regularly. So now the blog just sits there, but the posts are still there. After reading many of them I realized how true and relevant they still were, all this time later. So I’ve decided to bring those posts back to life on this new blog.

Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. (1 Cor 13:4-7 NKJV)

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. (1 Corinthians 13:4-7 NIV)

When I read 1 Cor. 13:4-7, how love does not behave rudely or seek it’s own, it made me stop and think how many times I’m rude and how often I seek for myself. It’s awful sometimes how I can love someone yet be rude and selfish and awful to them. It shouldn’t be this way, I need to think before I speak and react in a way that reflects that. For a lot of people this is a great definition and guideline for what love is and directions on how to love; I agree but I also think that it’s a way to check in on how we love others. Not in a check it off and move on, but a way to keep yourself on track and in the right direction in how to love others. It’s definitely something I need to constantly remember and ask myself if I am really doing all of those things or if I’m just faking it.

I will always hope and endure. I want to work things out and figure it out until there is a solution. I don’t want to give up. Love is about hope and endurance. Do I always hope and endure when I love? How do I act out hope and endurance, patience, kindness…

Love to me is also about being patient and preserving through the rough times and rejoicing in the good times. There’s going to be tough times, times when you ask yourself what am I doing here? This isn’t my problem so why am I walking though this with them? My reason? Because I love them and want to see them get though and over it. Because what kind of friend whether you love them or not, would leave someone when they need you the most? Never stay out of pity for someone and their situation; stay because you care enough about them to want to see them get out of that valley. It will be tough, I can guarantee that, if it wasn’t then why would it say love is patient…endures all things…and the list goes on. If you say you love someone, be prepared to get in the trenches with them, walk through that valley, whatever it takes, until they reach the other side and beyond.

Leave a Reply

