New Eyes

Once a year, go someplace you’ve never been before, the real voyage of discovery consists not in seeing new landscapes, but in having new eyes -Marcel Proust

Ever since I saw this quote when I first arrived in New Hampshire, I realized that this is exactly the way I would describe my time here. It has not been about just going across the country so that I can see the Northeast, to experience a ‘true’ Summer or to experience Fall and Winter; it has been about having the opportunity to have new eyes, to see things from a different perspective.

I’m not saying that every single year you absolutely have to go somewhere you’ve never been before, but it is definitely something that I strongly encourage people to do. I find that when you go somewhere that you’ve never been before, you get to see people in a new light, you get to see culture and new landscapes, you get to see what God has created and see how vastly different yet how vastly similar things are in different places. Going somewhere else gives you the ability to step outside of your comfort zone and see the world through lenses that you’ve never worn before.

The hardest thing for me sometimes in going to a new place is being able to let loose and be free to experience the place that I am in to the fullest. That would be my only regret in visiting places, is to not have done as much as I possibly could have, or to allow myself to try new things, do things that I typically wouldn’t see myself doing. It is the opportunity of an experience where I see growth in many cases.

I want to be able to look back at what I’ve done, where I’ve gone and see how I’ve grown because of those things. I don’t want to look back and say to myself, ‘Wow, I should have…I could have…’ I don’t want things to stand in the way of being able to do something great or amazing. I want to be able to say yeah, I’ve done that; whether I would do it again or not wouldn’t be the point, it’s trying new things and stretching myself and pulling myself out of my comfort zone that I want.

I want to have new eyes where ever I go, and in whatever I do.

Leave a Reply

