Tasty Thursday: No-Bake Energy Bites

Just gotta say I’m not one of those health food people who is all about the lowest calorie/fat/sugar etc. I like my calories, fat, and especially my sugar. I do however like it in moderation (except for sugar, you can just fork lift those candy bars my way) and so I like making dinners that are (almost) from scratch more than eating out or making snacks that are better for you than a bag of chips. So that’s where you’ll find this recipe, right in the middle of healthy and sugary. Sure it’s got its share of sugar in it (especially the way I do it), but it doesn’t have the artificial sweeteners/corn syrups/dyes etc. that you would find in a candy bar. Plus there are tons of ways you can either make this better for you or (the way I’m going to be doing it) the middle ground of healthy and truck load of candy bars. You can add in protein powders, fruit, nuts etc. substitute just about any of it to make it fit what you want. But as you’ll see in the photo, I’ve posted the photo of the chocolate covered energy bites (they looked prettier).

Becoming Mrs. Strong | Chocolate Covered Energy Bites

Ingredients

  • 1 cup oatmeal (old fashioned or quick oats, either one works)
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup honey or maple syrup
  • 1 cup coconut flakes
  • 1/4 c protein powder (sometimes more if the batter isn’t thick enough)
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Directions

  1. Mix all ingredients, making sure it’s sticking together. If it’s looking a little runny, add more protein powder or dry ingredient. If it looks like it needs to stick together more, add honey.
  2. Let chill in the fridge for about 30 minutes. Take out of the fridge and roll into balls. The balls can be any size, but I’d suggest bite size, these little guys (with the protein powder) can fill you up fast.
  3. Store in an airtight container for up to a week.

Note: I typically add chocolate chips to mine, but I have also tried dipping them in chocolate instead of adding the chocolate chips to the batter. Like I said, I like the middle between healthy and truck full of candy bars. If you go this option, just omit chocolate chips from the batter and after letting it chill 30 minutes, melt chocolate according to the package and dip the bites in. Let harden on a piece of parchment paper before storing (or eating).

One thought on “Tasty Thursday: No-Bake Energy Bites

Leave a Reply

