Tasty Thursday: Gluten-Free Brownies

The last Sunday of July was church in the park where all 3 campuses get together to have church well, in the park. It’s one giant picnic and everyone is broken up into 3 groups by last name, side dish, dessert, snack (i.e. chips). Yay for us, we land smack in the middle and so we got dessert! Seeing as this was my second week being gluten-free I decided to be semi-adventurous and try to make a gluten-free dessert. I know of one other person at our campus that is gluten-free due to allergies, so I thought it’d be kinda cool for us to be able to eat something that would be at the picnic (since everything else holds the possibility of either containing gluten or been cross-contaminated). So I looked up a recipe I had that was for flourless brownies and went for it. They turned out shockingly good! When you see the ingredients you may be just as shocked as I was. I guess I didn’t think would turn out well without any flour or baking powder in it, but I was proved wrong! It was a bit sweet and rich for me, but I also did make it with sweetened cocoa powder instead of unsweetened. This is something that I will definitely be making again!

Gluten-Free Brownie | Becoming Mrs. Strong

Ingredients

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 c Sweetened Cocoa Powder (it may be worth trying it unsweetened)
  • 3/4 Maple Syrup
  • 1/4 c + 1 tbsp Coconut Oil (I found mine at Trader Joe’s for $6 – it was $4 cheaper than at the grocery store)
  • 2 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1/8 tp Salt

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a bowl, mix all the ingredients until smooth. Pour into a parchment paper lined 8 x 4 loaf pan.
  3. Bake for 25-30 minutes.

Note: The brownies may be soft in the middle at 30 minutes and slightly wiggle. I let mine cool for about 10 minutes before sticking them in the fridge to cool and firm up more. We went out for a couple hours then came back and I took them out and cut them, by this time they were perfect.

Leave a Reply

